Media Advisory: Latino Caucus’ 16th Annual Latino Spirit Awards Honorees Available for Interviews (5/1/17)

April 27, 2017

For Immediate Release                                                                                                            

April 27, 2017

Contact:  Roger Salazar (916) 284-1255 /



Latino Caucus’ 16th Annual Latino Spirit Awards Honorees Available for Interviews 



SACRAMENTO, CA - On Monday, May 1, 2017 the California Latino Legislative Caucus will recognize Latino trailblazers at its 16th Annual Latino Spirit Awards during a Assembly floor ceremony at the State Capitol in Sacramento, CA. Former California Supreme Court Justice Cruz Reynoso will deliver keynote remarks.  Prior to the ceremony, honorees will be available for media interviews at Noon in Room 437 in the State Capitol.

The California Latino Legislative Caucus bestows the Latino Spirit Award honor on prominent Latinos in fields such as technology; journalism & media; literature; health & science; business, education; human rights; arts; public service, entertainment and advocacy. Established in 2002, The Latino Spirit Awards take place each year at the State Capitol in Sacramento to coincide with the state’s celebration of Cinco de Mayo and to recognize inspirational figures in the Latino community.


Members of the Latino Caucus, including Caucus Chair Senator Ben Hueso (D-San Diego) and Vice Chair Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D-San Diego). Keynote by former State Supreme Court Justice Cruz Reynoso and the 2017 Latino Spirit Award honorees:

  • Beatriz Acevedo, (President/Founder, mitú) Achievement in Technology & Media
  • Sylvia Acevedo, (Interim CEO, Girl Scouts USA) Achievement in Health & Science
  • Isabel Allende, (Author) Achievement in Literature
  • Dr. Joseph I. Castro, (President, CSU Fresno) Achievement in Education
  • Father Miguel Ceja, (Pastor, OLPH Parish, Riverside) Achievement in Human Rights
  • Jonas Corona, (Founder, Love in the Mirror, Long Beach) Dynamic Youth Award
  • Dr. Michael Lizárraga, (President/CEO, TELACU) Achievement in Business
  • Adrian Molina, (Co-director/writer, PIXAR) Achievement in Arts & Entertainment
  • Maria Elena Salinas, (Anchor, Univision) Achievement in Journalism & Media
  • Josephine S. Talamantez, (Founder/Board Chair, Chicano Park San Diego) Achievement in Arts & Advocacy


WHEN:               Monday, May 1st, 2017, California State Capitol, Sacramento, CA

WHERE:               Noon – 1:00 pm        Media availability with honorees in CA State Capitol, Room 437.

1:00 – 2:00 p.m.        Latino Spirit Award Ceremony on the CA State Capitol, Assembly Floor.




For more information and complete biographies of this year’s honorees, please click here.